There are a couple of reasons why an unavailable username may not have a corresponding profile: we reserve some usernames for our own future use, and there are also a number of deactivated accounts that still have their original username attached.
Note: as of May 2025, if you change the username on your account, your previous username is no longer immediately available to be claimed by a different account. Instead, there is a ‘cooling off’ period of a few weeks during which no other account can register the username (if you change your mind, you can revert to your previous username during this period). Once the cooling-off period ends, your previous username is made available for another account to claim. Please contact support if you need assistance with a username change.